Lucy Islands Conservancy is on the northwest coast of British Columbia, within the traditional territory of the Coast Tsimshian which includes both the Metlakatla and Lax Kw’alaams First Nations. Lucy Islands has been used since time immemorial by the Coast Tsimshian for cultural, social, ceremonial, and economic purposes.
Lucy Islands hosts a unique combination of cultural and natural values in a small area. The very wet coastal hemlock forest on the archipelago is a significant breeding area for a variety of seabirds. The rhinoceros auklet is the most abundant seabird on Lucy Islands and builds underground burrows to nest. These nests are very sensitive to disturbance, which is why it’s very important to stay on the boardwalk.
To fully enjoy Lucy Islands, visitors must respect and understand these values and the rules to protect them. Discover more about Lucy Islands on the interpretive signs found along the trail. Lucy Islands is significant in the protected area system.
The conservancy protects:
- A globally significant breeding and nesting habitat for seabirds, particularly rhinoceros auklets.
- An area with important Coast Tsimshian cultural values and documented archaeological sites.
- Important local recreational opportunities associated, including those related to the interpretation of the rhinoceros auklets, the area’s cultural values and associated navigational light.
A lighthouse is located on the east side of the largest island in the conservancy. Built in 1906, the lighthouse served as a manned station from 1907 to 1988. Other facilities that existed during that time include:
- residential buildings for the lighthouse keepers and their families.
- A boathouse on the southwest side of the main island.
- A helicopter pad not far from the boathouse on the western tip of the main island.
A 600-metre long boardwalk, which extended from one end of the island to the other, linked the helicopter pad and the residential buildings. In 1988, the lighthouse was automated and the house was removed. The boardwalk was left for visitors; to provide for safe and ongoing recreation opportunities, the boardwalk was completely replaced in 2010 and 2011.